Assignment1 :Introducing yourself:

This first assignment is about introducing yourself so that your tutor can get to know you, your interests and your work better. This assignment is not submitted for formal assessment.
Design a series of at least three postcards (final size A6) that say something about who you are, your interests in graphic design and your wider cultural influences or interests.
You can use any medium or materials you want to. You may want to work much larger and reduce your artwork to submit it. Don’t forget if you do this that details may get lost.
Use the front of the card to present your designs while on the back of the card say something about what this image means to you or why you chose it.
Keep notes to accompany the making of the cards in your learning log. These notes could cover why you decided to portray what you did, what you included and what you omitted.

I started this assignment by asking members of my family to make a postcard or postcards using a word or a picture, or both, to depict how they see me. I have included these in my physical learning log. My favourite was my three year old granddaughter who said “BaNana” – she loved her own joke. My daughter drew a banana for her as her contribution.

I made a list of words that I thought said something about me:

  • photographer
  • gardener
  • reader
  • traveller
  • sewing
  • cooking
  • family
  • arts & crafts
  • the sea

I worked on these ideas trying to use what I was learning about design. I tried to keep the cards simple and self explanatory. I added a description on the back of what the card was about or why I chose it. In order to define the card size I have framed each one with a black line. This is not on the original cards.

Here is my final selection:

f_stop_border

card_back_f_stop

book_worm_border

card_back_reader

theatre_card_border

 

card_back_rtheatre

sewing

card_back_sewer

Reflection on this assignment:

I am on a very steep learning curve here. I know nothing about graphic design other than commenting on what I like and do not like around me. I am not sure if I will get much out of this part of the course as there seems to be so much to learn. Because of my lack of experience I decided to keep my first assignment simple. I also do not like cluttered design so this fitted in well.

I hope you will learn something about me from my simple postcards

Tutor Report:

graphicdesign1assignment1-nuala-mahon-2

Leave a Reply

