Exercise: Point of Sale Display

What’s the brief?

The local green grocer has asked me to produce a point of sale display to go above the fruit and vegetables in their shop. They want the display to be seen from the street through the shop window to attract passing shoppers in order to boost their trade.

What are the key words?

  • display to be seen from street
  • A1 landscape
  • fruit & vegetables
  • attract passing shoppers
  • boost trade
  • seen in peripheral vision
  • visuals clear & dynamic
  • colour & tone
  • surface marks

For whom is the message?

  • potential customers old & young
  • people passing on foot or in cars
  • parents and children on their way to the primary school

This has been a very steep learning curve for me. I first created the mock-up to check size and try to work out how large the different components of the banner would have to be.

I then sketched on the paper a simple selection of fruit.

Then I tried to find possible colour schemes by using pastels, crayons and pieces of material. The key words “clear & dynamic” visuals were foremost in my ind so I decided the posters should be predominantly greens and reds. the greens to indicate freshness and the reds to draw attention. These colours would also be easily seen from the street either by those on foot or even those in cars. (see mock up in my diary)

I took some images of individual fruit and vegetables and assembled on a plate. I created a thumbnail of these:

individual_fruits

I ‘cut out’ the fruit and vegetables from their plate and copied them to a green background. (see reflections below about colour matching).

fruit_on_green_sm

 

I then placed the image in the poster. I used the transform tool to resize it and place it in the correct place.

I cut out the individual fruit from their background for dot over “i” and for tomato ‘eyes’

tomato_on_green_sm

I used the calligraphy brush to draw the mouth and eyebrows. I am sure these could have been done better but I had no idea what tool to use.

Finally I found the SPAR logo on the internet and used this. I left it on it’s white background as I thought it needed to stand out.

The poster had to contain fruit or vegetables but with some fun element to attract children. I am not sure if this worked in the vegetable banner so I omitted it from the fruit one and just used the orange to dot the “i”.

Basic RGB

 

Basic RGB

 

Reflection:

My technique of cutting and pasting the fruit and vegetable images needs to be improved. I am not sure how to do this but will seek help.

I like the vegetable poster but do not know if I have added sufficient information to indicate that the shop is SPAR. I just used the logo.

Although I used the colour coordinates from Illustrator in the PS background when I copy and pasted the image back in the colour was different. I think this is because I have sRGB set in Illustrator and RGB in PS. Also when i printed these images as JPG’s from PS the colour was totally different to that on the screen. I have not calibrated my screen for a while but the difference was dramatic. I need help with all this.

Although the fruit is not perfect I think it works ok. I probably should have ‘removed’ the marks from the pineapple.

I have asked two graphic designers for comment:

Sandi’s (a graphic designer) criticism by email:

There were a few probs. The balance & spacing was off. Be careful to make sure with something like this that there isn’t much dead space. In order to balance I would have the fruit all around like a border with your type bold and strong in the centre. I would stay away from script typeface, looks dated. Also I think the colour you used was too similar to background . You need it to jump out. Hope this helps and is not too critical….sorry!

Deidre’s (a graphic designer) criticism by email:

Firstly, excellent balance and proportion over the poster, great clarity of focus, there is a clear hierarchy so that a viewer can read that it’s crispy freshness, an image demonstrating this freshness and a small logo.
Secondly, I would say the font is not so easy to read at a glance from a distance, which is how the poster is likely to need to function. It is a friendly, casual font, which works for this type content, but maybe not on a poster. A plainer font, possibly bolder might be more legible.
Try out www.dafont.com for a fantastic range of fonts to choose from. Most are free for non-commercial use such as education and available in Mac format.
Thirdly, and this is really subjective, in consumer based posters a background with a bit of texture, an abstract something or other, with a 3 dimensional air to it, is often effective. 
Leave a Reply

