Exercise: Seeing the Light

Using only an image of a light bulb, the word ‘light bulb’ and a block of colour of your choice create different designs that explore visual dynamics – as the kitten designs shown in the previous project.

Think about your compositions, trying each element at a different sizes and cropping your photo. Your block of colour can be any size, so use it fully to create a sense of space in your composition. Think about layering your visual elements to create depth within your designs and think about contrasts.

I started this exercise by doing a series of thumbnails in my log book. I decided to use black as my fill colour because I realised on looking at my diary that I like black and white designs. Here is the result of these sketches.

light-bulb-sketches

I will now examine these to try to find the 20 that ‘stand out’ from the rest. I had to use a charcoal pencil for some of them because of the text. I would do this text in white on the computer.

I was not sure how flexible the block of colour could be or whether ‘shades’ of the colour were acceptable. I was also unsure whether using white as my block colour, for example in design number 20 was acceptable or whether a gradient of the colour could be used.  I included one or two of these ideas as I found the exercise a little boring doing 20 designs like the kitten design in the notes.

I used photoshop, rather than InDesign or Illustrator as I was not sure I could control all these elements.

This is the result:

light_bulb_page_sm

On reflection I am not sure this fits the criteria. If it were a client I could check. I looked up some other students work on the web and they seem to have stuck to the ‘kitten model’.

REFLECTION FOLLOWING TUTOR REPORT

I love your thumbnails for this; your drawings are dynamic, fun and creative. You have gone a little off-track for the exercise in terms of perhaps distorting the images rather than just working with scale, composition and visual dynamics however you’ve got some lovely ideas in there and have picked up all the elements of the task along the way. You could afford to go more extreme with all your elements – remember what you said about the tension in the FNAC logo in your visual diary? – taking your images beyond the frame can have a dramatically graphic effect so something to try in future work. 

Leave a Reply

